Fi's Foibles

By purpleicious

Buzz off

Today has been cold, grey, damp & windy, & coupled with the fact that I was severely lacking in energy, it really wasn't a day for going out unless you really had to; even Jack seemed to prefer crossing his legs to going out in the garden: hubby said that on their morning walk he was the very picture of a droopy, dejected dog - well, apart from his 'Denis Healey' eyebrows, which were apparently even bristlier than usual with the wind catching at them. So we've battened down the hatches & just pottered.

My pottering has involved trying to drastically prune the enormous number of photos clogging up my Photoshop Organiser; Blipfoto is partly to blame for this, as, whilst I always did take rather a lot of different shots of the same scene, now that I'm doing it with my daily blip in mind I end up taking even more. It would help if I could see the LCD a bit better, but I can't, & so I haven't a clue if what I've taken is acceptable until I can view it on my monitor; hence - in the vain hope of producing something halfway blippable - I tend to take the same shot on every conceivable setting. And then I upload them all onto my laptop. And then - with a few notable exceptions (patently too dark/too light, or the really blurry ones) I can never decide which one is best, & end up keeping nearly all of them. And then I wonder why Photoshop takes so flaming long to load. And so, every so often, I can't avoid the gruesome pruning task any longer. Still, it certainly beats the filing chore.

In the meantime, hubby has been trying to track down the source of an irritating buzzing noise in one of his guitars - I can confirm that it definitely is an irritating noise, as every so often he would plug it back into the amp & turn the volume up; for quite a while I thought that my TV must have developed an intermittent buzz, but once I'd switched it off I realised it wasn't that; then I became convinced that my laptop was the source of the buzz - that started me panicking: one thing worse than an irritating noise would be to be without my laptop. I do think hubby might have warned me that he was going to be buzzing, rather than have me sat here worrying about whether we could afford to replace my TV/get my laptop fixed, but instead it wasn't until I hobbled out to the loo & glimpsed him sitting at 'my' desk in the lounge that I realised he had been the culprit all along. Just as well I didn't have the energy to go & finish that filing today, as he had hogged the entire desktop.

Ah well, at least he's provided me with a blip; and I now know where my best embroidery scissors have got to .... I 'could' have been tempted to Have Words about those, but since I haven't actually done any needlecrafts for a year or more, I don't think I can really justify begrudging him the scissors!

Technical details:
The guitar is a Fender Stratocaster (I was told to say that, in exchange for being allowed to leave the neck out of the shot)
It was acquired at the tip
It's not just the outside, but also the inside of this guitar which has suffered abuse
The graffiti inside the pick-up cavity suggests that its previous owner was semi-literate: even a common four-letter word seems beyond their spelling ability.

Things we've learned about Jack
He really hates the rain
His eyebrows act as fins in the wind - any bushier & he could take flight.

Tooth update:
I still can't manage lettuce without trying to choke myself
Biscuits are now a breeze (though I do still have to dunk the ones that resemble hard tack)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.