The Daily Record

By havohej

Asschapel Fire and Destruction

Asschapel 'Fire and Destruction' (Flower Violence Records 2003)

The Process played with Asschapel in November 2003. It may have been our second gig. It was in the Arc, the excellent practice rooms operated by Gary, located in an archway beneath the railway in Commerce Street, Glasgow. Ali from Divide took over the rooms some years later and I think they have now closed which is a shame because it was a good spot.

As with all gigs at the Arc, it was a messy affair with much drinking of cheap carry outs followed by a less than professional performance from my troupe of reprobates. Asschapel, however, despite their very silly moniker were very impressive and very nice blokes to boot. Thus their record ended up in my collection.

Asschapel are also notable for being the first band I ever 'shared' the music of using Soulseek. It took an overnight session, using a 56K dialup connection, and the mockery of Jamie, 'Enjoying taking all my Asschapel, are you?', to finally hear poor MP3 versions of what I would soon own on lovely vinyl.

What a strange prospect the 'Chapel are - stupid name, ridiculous song titles and pretty chronic artwork - is it all tongue in cheek? The answer must be no as the music and delivery is 100% serious. Powerful production gives this proper, heavy bottom end and the deep, chunky bass sound propels the endlessly catchy riffs. Sounding like Tragedy with Carcass style dual vocals, Asschapel play the type of crusty thrash that is hugely popular with the From Ashes Rise/Amebix back patch crowd.

I'm not sure if these guys are still together, but if they aren't I can imagine them reforming in two years' time to co headline the hardcore tent at Hellfest.

I had pushed this record to the back of my mind, sure that it was a joke. It certainly isn't and will be played at loud volumes next time a fan of this type of stuff visits my den of iniquity. It really makes me want to MOSH IT UP!

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.