Don?t Know Nuffink

By Mrski1

Addicted to the black stuff

Carbon carbon everwhere...

My brother thinks im addicted to carbon fibre and he may well just be right. I now have two bikes made of the stuff, and love the qualities the material gives if engineered properly, my watch face is carbon fibre, I had a gearknob with carbon fibre, and im looking at a ring with the black stuff too!

One is my road racing bike, which feels stiffer than my old steel framed machine, but has enough flex to iron out the road, it is quite a bizarre feeling at first, must be some kind out wonder material!

The TT bike on the other hand is a completely different proposition, stiff as hell to maximise power transfer with very little in the way of comfort, although still not as harsh to ride as an alloy frame. It also looks super smooth with no welds underneath the paint, and with its aero profile tubes, starting to look like something other than a bike.

However, it is not as alein as some machines such as the new Cervelo P4, an ugly bike but still very appealing to look at for some reason, or the Orbea Orca looking like it has ridden out of a Star Wars set.

I would love to see these frames all put into a wind tunnel to see the effects the new designs have.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.