the colour green

By jukeys

le départ

Up early and had a mouthful of toast and a cup of tea for breakfast. I am always dead nervous before flying and can't eat a thing.

My sister phoned to wish me a safe flight and the tears started from then on really...

Dad gave me a lift to the airport and mum waved goodbye from the kitchen window. Was sad to say goodbye.

Got to Lyon airport with loads of time to spare and said goodbye to dad. God, it's hard to leave my family. They're not even that far away, but it's worse every time!

Had a big glass of wine and a breakfast bar at the airport - great combo! - and chatted away to a couple in the queue to get on board. They were lovely and offered me a seat beside them in the middle of the plane. I said thanks, but that I prefer the back and I wandered off to a seat there. Within minutes a group of 30 French school kids appeared and made their way to the back of the flight. Needless to say, I got up and went to see the couple I'd been chatting to and asked if the offer was still open. We chatted away for most of the flight, even during the "light" turbulence and said our goodbyes once we'd hit terra firma in Edinburgh.

It was freezing and raining and bloody miserable. Got the bus home and my lovely neighbour had left bread and milk for me in the fridge. The cat came to greet meet and nuzzled me for about half an hour - very sweet.

Back to work tomorrow. Talk about back to reality with a bang.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.