A Plumbers Wife!

By hebsjournal

Moral victories (and an apology!)

Firstly the apology - SORRY MCDAWG....you know what for (and I hope you know I was KIDDING....please don't hurt me!)

Anyway, today was the day where I could quite happily have shouted "RESULT!" on at least 2 occasions....

Result number 1

I started the day with TWO phone messages from the parent I mentioned yesterday to confirm that she WAS coming in today to meet with me at 1.30.

Meeting and teaching between 9am and 1.30 then it began. I prepared myself with a small arsenal of ammunition to back up my perspective on the lazy (but intelligent) young man in question. Mum came in ready to deflect everything back onto school. She wanted a fight. She got me instead - and when I am good, I'm very very good. After 15 minutes, where she soon realised that I wasn't going to capitulate and say "OK then - yeah its all our fault" and when she realised that the only person who could really change the situation was her son, it was she who capitulate!!! In some respects I have made a rod for my own back in that I have said that the boy can come on academic report to me and I will mentor him, and update her weekly. But I would rather be the 'gatekeeper' and ensure that my colleagues don't have to repeatedly spend time going over old ground with her - its not fair on them - they have enough to do. To be fair, she was very reasonable, particularly when I used my favourite line "I have a child too, and I know that as parents, all we went is the best for our children!"......you can't argue with that



Result number 2

We have a full time Police COnstable based on our site - part of an initiative by Greater Manchester Police to develop community liason and ensure that the Police profile is improved and strengthened. We have a good relationship with GMP and as we are an extended school with a range of children and family services based on site, it was natural to incorporate this offer into our provision.

Our PC started yesterday - and she's great (although the kids are wondering what the hell is going on, much to my pleasure!). She did 'gate duty' with me last night and we were discussing the problem of parental parking outside our school - where parents park on the yellow zigzig lines regardless of the safety of our kids (their kids). She said she's start giving tickets out if necessary. So stood in the howling wind and pouring rain this afternoon, she watched someone pull up and park inches short of the zigzags (taking the p*** if you ask me - and clearly she thought so too!). She went over, had a word, explained that the parking wasn't safe particularly when there was a parking bay on the other side of the road. Parent's answer "well I'm not parked ON the zigzag am I?" - The response was basically - This is a friendly warning. If you don't move it, I ticket you.

He moved.

I smiled and no longer cared that I was soaked to the skin.

And I still don't care, after getting home at 7pm, starting work again at 8pm and finally giving up at 10.45.

2 results make being knackered a lot more bearable!

Once again McDawg - sorry.................much grovelling - how can I possibly make it up to you?!?!??!?!?!!? ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.