A rainy morning

Slept late in the quiet of the beach house. Getting ready to go out for a run, as the rain overnight had paused (briefly as it turned out), and I looked out across the deck to Kawau Bay below the cliff. The sun (well risen; by 45 minutes) was squeaking through a small gap in the clouds and sending a blast of light across the water in the bay. Went to get my camera, and by the time I had done that, the gap had closed.

Tonight, shortly after getting back here to the apartment, there was a bright red sunset. Took a couple of pictures in which the red just looks pale and insipid, while the sunset is exceedingly yellow. As I have yet to gain any skills or programmes to deal with this, my attempt to recreate what I saw was an abject failure.

So here you have one heron (the others had departed as I squelched my way 200 m from the shore across the flats to get this close) and many ducks. The rain was still threatening at this point, and delivered later.

This is the Snells Beach part of Kawau Bay, looking over to Tauwharanui Peninsula in the distance.

Because I was forgetful yesterday and travelled north without the means to download my photos, I have back blipped for yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.