Rags of light

By CarolG1

Muckle was her fame...

Off we set on our first day's walking on St Cuthbert's Way - 19 miles from Melrose to Jedburgh.

The weather was very kind to us and we had a fabulous day walking over the Eildon Hills above Melrose and down along the wild garlic-scented banks of the River Tweed.

I was walking with my two good friends Mandy and Justin. They live in Dumfries and very kindly provided lunch in the form of Scotch Pies. I had never tried them before. I will not be trying them again! An acquired taste, I think.

This area is full of history about battles between the Scots and English along the border. I was really keen to see this stone commemorating the legendary bravery of a local woman during the Battle of Ancram Moor in 1545. We discovered that the story is probably an amalgamation of at least three others over the centuries. Still makes a good gory tale though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.