Pink Bicycle Girl

By angelahen

Forgot my wellies!!

Cycled in to town this morning and the blue sky and sunshine made me forget about all the rain. Until I get to the Mere and saw the height of the River - wow! That made me wonder if the rowing course was flooded. Yep it was but manageable. Although I love trudging through puddles in my wellies I have a real fear of cycling through long stretches water. But I made it. A slightly damp knee from the spray - but it was fun. I darn't try the section under the railway bridges as there is a drop into the river. I am terrified that I fall in.....even when I know I am no where near the edge. so I made a detour at this point of my journey. I did stop and check Mrs Swan , She seemed OK, and Mr Swan was there too so I didn't hang around.

Business in town done - nice man but a bit of a pointless visit. I had a call from school whilst meeting the man in the dole office, and did not know that using a mobile in there was a security issue - Thought the doors would lock shut and the shutters automatically come down - all very serious. Fortunately the man I was with was very sensible and appreciated that people had lives to live.

The journey home was a tad more exciting. The water on the rowing course had risen considerably. To add to the treachery of the path the wood chippings from all the work that was been carried out were being washed up on the path, so it was a bit slippery and bumpy. I waited to see if anyone would come and rescue me and cycle through so I could blip them but no such luck. Made it through - but with very wet feet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.