A British Dog with a British Ball

Whisper wanted to show you his British squeaky ball.

I went to England in March 2001 to experience Crufts for the first time. I traveled 5 friends. They were also interested in Border Collies, so in our spare time, when we were not at Crufts, we visited some of the famous British Show Border Collie breeders and saw their beautiful dogs including lots of puppies.

Then one evening we went to visit an elderly lady, who had a bitch with 2 puppies, an older bitch and a young male collie. It was not famous top winning show dogs and I had never heard of the breeder before... But I fell in love with one of the puppies - a little black and white boy.

Of course I was not there to buy a puppy, so I left and continued my Crufts adventure.

2 weeks later - when I was back in Denmark - I was still dreaming about the little black and white puppy dogs, so I contacted the breeder and asked if she still had him and if she would consider sending him to Denmark. She said yes to both!

2 weeks later the puppy arrived to Copenhagen Airport. He was sent here by cargo and I was in the airport to collect him. It was so very exciting!

And that puppy dog was Whisper, who is now 12 years old, my best friend and soul mate. And this is him with his British ball - oh yes, he does still remember where he came from :-)

Whisper was the first Englishman in the household, but he is not the only one anymore. His daddy Robbie joined us a year later and since then Beat and Hero have arrived. In fact Biscuit is the only one of my boys, who are born and bred in Denmark.

Anyway - it has been a beautiful sunny day here. I have been to school, but the boys and I went for a lovely long walk when I came home, so we have had time to enjoy it.

Happy Monday everyone - 4 days till weekend ;-)
Emmy & the Hazyland boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.