Ladies Smock or Milkmaids

... and apparently it is also known as Cuckoo Flower - a name I've never heard before. There must be regional variants to the name. The latin name is Cardamine pratensis - I've always thought of it as belonging to the cress family.

It's a flower that holds special memories for me as it grew in abundance in a long established meadow where I used to live in Ackworth. Today's flower was growing in a very damp spot on the edge of the pond near Winterhill School, Rotherham. Today was our photography group afternoon, but as there were only three of us we spent more time chatting than photographing. Finally I decided I was going to see if the pond would yield a decent photo, as indeed it did. I also tried for cowslips, but these were not quite as successful - maybe yellow is a harder colour to get right!

I finally got around to proof reading our `Australia Here we Come' publication this morning (it's aimed at teachers) and I thought I might check out reactions to the front cover. Maybe I'll save that for tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.