On My Doorstep

By bwhere

A Bumpy Ride!

Being a 1-car family now I don't get to use the car when my wife is at work. Like today. So I had to catch the rural bus for a change.

I haven't been on this bus since I came out of hospital after brain surgery and I was not allowed to drive for a few weeks. I remember this bus ride being bumpy from then. It wasn't surprising that my head felt buffeted. So, perhaps my reaction was influenced by association with that time.

It was around the time when a very polite verger sidled up to me in a near-by cathedral and whispered into my ear, "Unless you have just had brain surgery, please could you take your headgear off." It isn't often that you are likely to be able to reply that that is exactly why you've left your headgear on because you are feeling the cold! The verger was very surprised, I think, the first time he has received such an answer to his polite request!

But I have wandered from the rural bus which I manged to miss on the return journey because it failed to stop at the scheduled place. So I had to be picked up only to find that I hadn't taken my heart tablets and I hadn't stopped to eat anything all day in town! What is happening to me?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.