The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Therapy

My phone rang this morning and changed my otherwise normal morning of endless paperwork and emails. In fact, I did not come out from the aftermath until well after 1:00 PM, when I suddenly realized that I had not had a bite to eat all day long!

It was very nice here today, albeit breezy, but in the sunshine, it was pure bliss. I had spent most of last week writing proposals and having meetings and family drama, so a couple of mental health hours seemed appropriate.

This calmed the storm and led the way to a Monday dinner of leftovers, and the decision to bake. For me, baking if often the best therapy session I could ever imagine having.

There is something about discovering what you have in your refrigerator, on your counter, and in your cabinets, that can be combined to make a sweet or savory treat. Today, four past their prime bananas in my fridge begged me to put them out of their misery.

I obliged. Besides, it gave me a good reason to use these fancy cupcake wrappers, and will make a nice morning treat with cream cheese, or that huge log of raspberry butter that resides in our freezer.

I feel better now, and look forward to tomorrow, and that stack of paperwork I never got to work on today. I've always loved to bake, and today was the perfect day to fill the house with the aroma of cinnamon and nutmeg.

When life hands you lemons....make some banana muffins.

The perfect cure for what ails you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.