Leverpostej

I don't cook, I defrost and reheat. However when I saw a Danish cookery leaflet in the charity shop with this recipe in it I decided to have a shot.

I followed the instructions to the letter.

bay leaves,
6oz streaky bacon,
1 medium onion,
8oz chicken livers,
1 clove garlic,
2oz fresh white breadcrumbs,
2 tablespoons sherry,
1 egg beaten,
salt and pepper.

place bay leaves in a loaf tin (1lb). Line tin with four bacon rashers. Mince remaining bacon, onion and chicken livers. Add rest of ingredients and mix well. Turn into loaf tin and spead evenly. Cover with foil and place in a roasting pan half filled with water. Bake at 160 degrees for 1 1/4 - 1 1/2 hours. Cool slightly in tin, turn out and leave to become cold. Serve cut into slices.

I didn't have any sherry so I used amaretto.

A marvelous success!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.