Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

FEATHER

One of the wonderful things about being the dolphin's Granny is how my attention is drawn to things my boring adult mind would otherwise miss, such as this feather. I was a bit rushed and would have liked to get a better shot, showing the tiny barbicels that hold the barbs together. Impressed, huh? I knew noothing about the parts of a feather until today; vane, rachis, barbs, barbules, calumus, after feathers. So much wonder and so much to learn. Truly, every day is a school day.

The dolphin was a bit peeky and off his food, so no swimming today.

THREE THINGS TO BE GRATEFUL FOR:

Happy times with the dolphin
Course materials turning up on time - even tho I ordered them late
Easy travelling along a surprisingly empty M8

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.