David J. Rose

By djrose007

At least the dogs keep me sane!

AGAIN working on my employment tribunal claim against Nortel Networks and the administrators Ernst & Young.
The dogs like to keep me company while I'm doing this sort of thing and they have their respective chairs to sit in. The wicker chair, which Foxy is sitting in, was our Sons' chair when he was a toddler, he is now a 34 year old school teacher and the chair has been used by the girls, (Johanna and Julia) Grandsons and Grand Nephews since then.

The tribunal on 11 May is the end of the line as far as I'm concerned. The Judge is very sympathetic to the 400 claims being made by ex-employees made redundant at the end of 2008 and through 2009. I, and 250 others, were made redundant 30 March 2009 and we've been building up to this day for the past 3 years.
My claim is substantial but I'm under no delusions about what we are going to get. However, I really could not be bothered to take it further (County Court etc.) for the extra you MIGHT get.
I know the Judge is going to be fair, he's not happy with E&Y who have already admitted they acted unfairly and illegally but still putting over 400 claims through the Employment Tribunal process instead of paying what we are really owed.
What a terrible end to a company that had such an incredible history and were so good to employees in their day. Usual story, greed at the top where the main purpose was to line pockets before it all went down the tubes. CEO, Mike Zafirovski, still got his $12,000,000 (No, the zero key did not get stuck) while we got some advice on how to claim the Insolvency Service payouts from the UK Government!!
Still, I'm not bitter as I've really enjoyed these last 3 years not working and being able to spend time doing the Vulcan, Jet Age Museum, Dogs, and Family but not necessarily in that order!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.