Vertical Puddles

By SkyRider

The winnah!

Well, everyone knows chocolate comes out on top over healthy snacks.

There's a serious side to this though. I was reading the other day about metamerism and how it can cause poor colour rendition in digital photographs, particularly in the purple spectrum so the object of this morning's exercise was to get a bluish purple and a reddish purple and to try it against my DSLR (a Pentax K-5) and my compact (an Olympus XZ-1).

The Pentax rendered the colours perfectly. The Olympus rendered them somewhat blue (which was expected) particularly the bluer one (which wasn't); this was more marked on the LCD screen on the camera than on the computer monitor though. That said, the photo viewed on the computer screen was sufficiently close in colour that if I hadn't been looking for it I wouldn't have spotted any difference.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.