Colin McLean

By ColinMcLean

Committed heathens

St Mungo's Parish Church in Penicuik. At a point in my childhood I lived barely 100 yards from this church, and as I now drive through or near Penicuik most days to and from work, I have for some time meant to find out more about the building.

Behind what you see here are the ruins of St Kentigern's Church, dating from the 17th century. As the population of Penicuik expanded, so did the need for a bigger church, and the building here was designed in 1771, probably by Sir James Clerk. It is a classic Georgian box, with a fine Doric portico.

When we lived in Penicuik, my father was an elder in St Mungo's and we were obliged to attend regular Sunday services. My memory is of unbelievable tedium, broken only by the snores of snoozing adults or me being able to catch a glimpse of a comic I had hidden under my jacket. My parents eventually relented to the pressure of three restless sons and went to church on their own. It was a situation I did not impose on my daughters, both of whom remain committed heathens. Like their father.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.