Thinking more visually

By fjtweedie

Fire-bird

Worship at a city centre church at lunchtime today. I have come to regard this monthly service as my "home church" and appreciate the peace of this reflective service (partly because I have nothing to do with it!)

This month celebrated Pentecost, the coming of the Holy Spirit. This photo does not do it justice, but there was a huge red and orange bird of flame hanging in the centre of the church. Blending the symbols of tongues of flame and the dove of peace, it was VERY impressive. The reflection spoke of sparks of flame as well, and I took a number of photos of the candle-covered altar which you can see at the back. They're better photos, but I needed to blip the bird!

There were other installations in the sanctuary reflecting different images of the Holy Spirit - something for all who attended. I went from here recentred and refreshed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.