The Fly Fisherman

First, thanks for all your wonderfully encouraging comments from yesterday's announcement of a more flexible attitude to my blipping - although I did say my journal is going to change just a little. Don't expect too many cat pictures any time soon. All the while I'm training on the bike I will still be blipping from the roadside, because that's the journal aspect I most cherish at the moment. It's just that I don't feel the need to make special trips any more, to seek out a lone tree in a hailstorm when the cat will do perfectly fine. And I want to experiment with some techniques and try some portraits. I really want to learn more about this art.

I took a route back home from the office via Pool, Beckwithshaw and Fewston, in order to ring the changes a bit and also ensure that I finished with the wind on my back. It started quite mild, but I got really cold as the sun went down. I stopped at this point, beside Fewston Reservoir, to seek a bit of shelter from the wind and to put on the knee warmers and the windproof jacket that I had the good sense to carry with me. I really needed them for the last few miles home.

I guess there are lots of ways we find to commune with nature and find peace from the stress of everyday life. I currently have my cycling and photography. This guy has his fly fishing. I don't pretend to understand it, but I can only suppose he uses this activity to lose himself in the moment every bit as much as I use my activities to the same end. Everyone finds their own way.

I was able to zoom in on him with this new camera to actually see that he was wearing shades! I'm very impressed so far with this upgraded model. I think we're set to become good friends. And I'll probably still give old faithful the odd outing, especially if I'm out running. Wouldn't want the little fellow to sulk!

I'm extremely tied up with work at the moment, with a lot of things that have needed finishing in order to be tested before the end of the week. It hasn't left me any spare time at all this week - which is a real shame because I so want to spend more time here. Let me just say thanks again to everyone who has stopped by recently. I'll just try and keep you entertained in the best way I can until I come to visit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.