splf...my story

By uknowme

High Trails

It's a right of passage at Cottonwood Elementary. The whole 5th grade spends two nights and three days at High Trails, an outdoor discovery camp about two miles south of Denver.

Although Sam never went to Cottonwood, Anna's been looking forward to this for years. I remember seeing the big buses when she was a Kinde...wondering what it was all about and anticipating that it would be a long time before we were involved.

Blink my eyes and here we are. I was a little emotional not because she was leaving for two nights, but because they grow up before you know it.

While this was Anna's big day the defining moment came thru Sam. He "ditched" first period and surprised Anna by being there before the bus took off. She was shocked, they hugged, and she boarded the bus.

Sam waived them on to a safe and fun journey...seconds after this photo he turned to me in a puddle of tears. Although he'd left Anna before, and she's slept at friends houses, this was the first time she was leaving him. And Mr. Soft Hearted...it caught us all off guard when he least expected it. I hope he never changes!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.