Harri8

By Harri8

Monitoring the situation

Today was about blipping orchids but I bumped into this fellow and couldn't resist. Besides, by the time I reached the Singapore Botanic Gardens the sky was glowering and whilst it was still the lush, sublime oasis that it ever is, it was not the best light for photographing orchids.
When I first happened upon him he was lying flat outstretched, so camouflaged that, despite his size, I nearly missed him. He didn't seem to mind me watching him and every so often this long tongue (must have been 10cm) zipped in and out. I had been observing him for quite a while when there was suddenly a rustling that was loud enough to be heard over the cicadas, we both jumped out of our skins as from the bushes burst another, although this one was at least three time the size of my friend! They, however, were clearly not friends. They disappeared from sight as bully boy chased the smaller one into the lake where a terrible squawking ensued ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.