Jack James

By JackJames

Linlithgow Keyhole

After a brief scare as I slept though my alarm, I made it with time to spare to sit my first exam of the season. Went well - they were kind with the essay questions. I was thinking - I wonder if the pass rate of a course depends on the mood of the lecturer when they write the exam in March...

So, that done, it was time to relax for a day - then back to revision tomorrow. Fed up of the greyness that was hanging over Edinburgh, I looked online and saw that everywhere to the north and west of us was bathed in sunlight, so made plans to travel in that direction.

Jenny had also just done an exam and was in a similar mood, and suggested we paid a visit to Linlithgow Palace. 20 mins out of Edinburgh on the train, and the cloud stared to break up almost as soon as we got there. Very pretty indeed - the trees were just coming into leaf, making the loch look especially summery, and I would have been tempted for a dip had there not been a) People b) Wind or C) a few inches of swan shite around the edge.

Jenny was determined to get into the Palace, but I wasn't too keen on paying £7 for the privilege. Worked out that we got in for free, playing ignorant to the paying system, and no-one came after us, so we got our student discount.

This is a photo of the top of one of the many towers we climbed, just to find a dead end at the top. This one resembled a keyhole nicely.

Back on the train, Jenny with a kilo of muscles in tow, arriving back at the flat to a fresh king-prawn curry cooked by head chef Sean. Was planning on the pub, but after the cycle to Fay's to try and persuade everyone I couldn't be bothered myself, so ended up playing cards and watching the longest Italian film in history.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.