Fi's Foibles

By purpleicious

Where did you get that hat?

Why, from the market of course!
When I said yesterday that the new hat was being added to my emergency blip list, I had no idea that I'd be using it so soon. But, err, well I've been rather lacking in energy, and inspiration, and so here it is .....

The bead's gotta go though. Not that I have anything against plain wooden beads 'per se', but I have a stash of much prettier beads left over from my jewellery-making days, & I'm sure I'll find something in there to suit.

This is assuming that I can actually find the stash. This time last year when we were preparing to downsize (not dreaming that we'd end up actually upsizing) I kept looking at the vast stash of craft gear I'd accumulated over a decade-and-a-half of dabbling, & determined that, regardless of where we ended up living, I was definitely going to downsize this area of my life. But, I'm hopeless at getting rid of stuff, & then when we found this place I realised that I wouldn't have to, & so instead of at least packing it away in an organised manner, I left it til the last minute, & it got crammed into a variety of boxes & cases & transported here in all its glorious disorganisation. Our daughters were here that first weekend, helping to shift & unpack boxes, & whereas the majority of boxes had a pretty obvious destination, there were still an awful lot which didn't - i.e. all those which simply had Mum's Craft Stuff scrawled on them; it got quite embarrassing the number of times one or other daughter (or grandson) would yell out to me: "This one's got coloured card/cutting tools/beads/cross stitch threads in it, where d'you want me to put it?"; and I simply didn't know.... the problem wasn't that I had nowhere for these things to be put, but that I was spoilt for choice: I had not one, but two possible future craft rooms (well, areas within rooms), & I had this daft idea that I would be doing papercrafts in one room & needlecrafts in another; but I kept forgetting which room was destined for which craft, & so half the boxes went to the wrong room. And the reality is that I haven't actually done any crafts since we moved here - partly cos I haven't a clue where to start looking for the requisite materials! But, with a bit of luck I will track down that bead box; and who knows, perhaps it will spur me to finally getting all my craft equipment organised, & maybe even admitting to myself that I'm never actually going to do (or be able to do) some of those crafts again, & that it's time to get rid of the materials so that the storage space can be given over to something more useful. Watch this space .....

Things we've learned about Jack
He couldn't care less what colour his lead is; hubby reports that it's 'more comfortable' than the old one, but he's still not sure about the colour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.