October 4th Journal

By IONAX

The National Theater of Iceland

When attending the Commercial College I had long vacations around Christmas and Easter and I got a job I could go to whenever I had the time. The job was in the meat department of a grocery and I learned a lot about cutting up lambs and the meat industry. After the school I was hired permanently in the meat department in the summer of 1966.

In the evenings I attended acting school with one of the most famous Icelandic actor of the National Theater, Ævar Kvaran. After that I wanted to go to the acting school of the Nationa Theater; it started at 16:00 hour and I had to work to 18:00 hour - so it didn't work out. More here.

But I got to act a lot. In Ævar's school, in churches and in Martha by Flotow in The Nationa Theater as a drunken sailor. In an opera and I hate to have to sing in public. Somewhere I have a picture of me in a French sailors uniform, trying to act as a drunken sailor. I had been all over the theater so I knew every nook and cranny of it. But in the end I found out that it didn't suit me, acting night after night was not for me.

The picture is of The National Theater in Iceland and they are playing The Miserable - what else - a whole circle since here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.