Let There Be Light

By solli

Red-winged Blackbird

Agelaius phoeniceus

Thank you again for the stars and hearts on yesterday's Worlds of Wonder. It hit the Spotlight page!

I thought I'd change it up a bit so I took a ride to my favorite place to see if there were any herons skulking about. I haven't seen Harry in months! I spotted lots of barn swallows, geese and ducks and of course, the robins and bluejays also. Mrs. Royal Redship stopped by the backyard before I left - she perched on the wheelbarrow that was parked in front of my back door and gave me her soft tsk tsk. Sunflower seeds for her!

The Red-winged blackbirds have built a nest alongside upper Echo Lake in a beautiful flowering bush that resembles orange blossoms. The two males I've seen are very protective and will perch close to the bush on a cattail or a post. I haven't seen the female yet - I'm wondering if she's sitting on her eggs.

This one took flight after spending a few moments plaintively calling for it's mate. They look pitfully dejected if they don't hear a return call. It almost breaks my heart.

For another red-winged flight photo please click here.

Happy Friday everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.