Convoy

I've not felt so tired at the end of a week for a very long time. I feel like my head is full to the brim. If I have to deal with anything else I think the contents could all spill out and I'm not sure I'd care too much if all that stuff just flowed away down some metaphorical drain. Unfortunately, that stuff is quite important to a lot of people so I guess I better make sure it doesn't slop out of my brain for a little while longer. I guess that's what's called responsibility.

The one thing that my head does seem to be able to accommodate is my blip. The time I reserve each day to take a few photographs, process them and then add a few words has become sacred. It's my little haven of peace amidst the chaos which seems to surround me the rest of the time. But I know that I wouldn't be doing this if it wasn't for the community here. If it was something I did purely for my self, like a private journal, then I doubt I would have kept it going a single month.

People tend to think of me as a driven soul, which I'm not going to argue with, but actually I need drivers to be driven. Perhaps we're all a bit like this. I've always loved photography but I've never made the time for it like I do now. I've always enjoyed writing but for over twenty years I've never made the time for that either. I really appreciate the comments yesterday in relation to my writing. It's been a wonderful surprise to me how much resonance I often seem to find between the words and the image. It's yet another magical aspect of the art of blipping.

Training hard on the bike in recent months I've become aware that I've been trying to squeeze too much into each day. It's been a while since I took a leisurely route from the station to the office via the canal. I decided to do that today and was rewarded with being able to watch three families of Greylag Geese, with no less than twenty goslings between them, moving in convoy. It wasn't just me that was stopped in their tracks by this sight. A few parents with their young kids were watching, and a whole gang of teenagers on their way to school had their mobile phones out and were taking pictures.

This scene clearly stikes to something universal in all of us ... which is actually a topic I wanted to talk about in relation to photography, to conclude my thoughts on my first blip year. But that will have to wait until tomorrow. It's turned 10pm and none of us here have had any food yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.