Life in a Northern Town.

By archduchess

Supermoon.

This month's full moon apparently coincides with its perigee - its closest approach to Earth, and this month's perigee is the nearest to the Earth this year, as it varies by about 3%. (All moon information stolen from space.com)

We decided that Beacon Fell would provide a good clear view of the moon, with opportunities to get shots of the supermoon close to the horizon through trees or near buildings, which creates an optical illusion of the moon being even huger. By the time the cloud cleared and we could see it, the moon was high up in the sky, the wind had picked up, and I was trying to balance my DSLR on a wobbly gorillapod on the car roof, suffering camera shake due to the wind and my shivering, and dancing around between shots and stuffing my fingers in my pockets and complaining that they were about to fall off. I took this one through the car window as we were leaving. It was the best shot of the lot. Typical!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.