Today's Special

By Connections

Pretty in Pink

When the sun reappeared this afternoon, I thought a stroll through our back garden might provide me with a blip.

I don't like pink very much, but I have to admit that in a springtime garden, with myriad shades of green the dominant color, rosy hues have their place.

The magenta pink bud scales that sheltered the emerging leaves of our first Japanese maple (Acer palmatum 'Scolopendrifolium'), pictured above, are a wonderful contrast to those delicate, fuzzy, pale green leaves.

Our daphne, with its apple-green leaves and cheery tiny flowers -- and that delightful fragrance! -- has a sturdier look, a survivor of my original attempt to create a cottage garden.

We have five varieties of blueberry bushes in the back garden, but I've forgotten their names. This one has particularly beautiful blossoms and provides a good berry crop each year, most of which the robins eat before the berries are ripe enough for us to pick.

It's wonderful what you can see when you're out looking for a blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.