Nelson

I was driving around the seafront at lunchtime when I spotted this fisherman. The tide was unusally low and he was well down on the shore below the usual fishing platform. I really liked the picture he made with Arrow/Fifeshire Rock in the background.

I had to drive another couple of kilometres before I could turn around and go back - by which time he was squatting with his rod propped on his bag.

For those of you who don't know Nelson, although this looks like beautiful 'country' I am actually standing on a main road in the city, the other side of which is completely lined with houses.

Originally named Arrow Rock in honor of the Arrow (one of the three ships that entered Nelson Haven in 1841 opening the area up for setlement). The following year another ship, the Fifeshire, arrived bringing settlers. As it departed, the Fifeshire struck Arrow Rock and sank. The Rock was thus renamed Fifeshire Rock for the 1842 sinking of the first ship bringing settlers.

It's now known under either name by us locals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.