Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Bridge over the River

I blipped this picture on 23 February 2012 when it was almost dry, today there is a lot of water due to the recent rain; however, this picture does not show the true depth of the water. GOG's picture today, taken looking the other way shows it much better.

Today I can read the plaque which says that the bridge was built in 1858, but I think it means the bridge was re-built. The railway line was operational in 1845 and if the bridge was not there then passengers could not reach the station.

I saw the raging water when I walked home from Yoga on Thursday evening and I should have taken it yesterday when it would still have been raging. However, the Moorhen presented itself in the garden and so I did not walk over to take this; with hindsight I should have left the Moorhen for another day!

This is a tributary of the River Cam which runs through Cambridge. The main River Cam breaks into two just after Grantchester and this is one of the two tributaries. The other branch goes to Melbourn and appears to stop in a lake at Royston Road. There are a lot of little tributaries off our branch and I think it eventually joins the River Stort at Bishop's Stortford.

This river runs alongside the common and two days ago the flooding was considerable, reaching above the level of one of the seats. I have posted the seat now that the water has gone down on my Flickr account; you can still see the debris left when the water went down.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.