The Little Lyle Files

By kevinwatters

View from a window (3)

Travelling back from Inverkip today on the train. Although I have changed my regular routine to traveling on the west coast mainline from Glasgow via Carlisle, Preston etc, I decided to revert to the East Coast service as the west coast mainline is shut for good old bank holiday weekend engineering work.

Three benefits here with this option:
1. No changing onto a coach between Warrington Bank Quay and Crewe stations;
2. Mrs W. and the kids are going to meet me at Peterborough so I will see them two hours earlier than planned;
3. Caught a half decent shot of Durham Cathedral from the train in spite of a rather dirty window and dust on the inside of my lens.

I have often tried to get a decent shot of one of my favourite views but usually the train is traveling too fast, the rain is covering the outside of the window or simply my camera synchronises the shutter with a railway gantry being square in the middle of the shot.

One disappointment is that the fantastic sunshine I enjoyed in Scotland since yesterday was withdrawn just north of Newcastle. Never mind eh! Now it's begining to feel like a proper bank holiday weekend.

Have a good one good people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.