Life of Riley

By jenceng

365th Wonder Blip

365 blips, wow and a golden camera! Sometimes there have been days where I thought I would not be able to find a blip, but I love the challenge of taking a photo daily and I also love being a part of this community. Thank-you to all my regular and occasional journal readers, you make me smile and I love to hear about your daily lives too. A special thank-you to Katherine Ellis for posting Blipfoto to her Facebook page and drawing me into this wonderful community.

10 things I wouldn't have done this year if it was not for blip...
1) taken a photo everyday, obvious but true
2) started using my camera completely in manual mode
3) read photography books by Bryan Peterson and others
4) bought a macro lens and a lensbaby
5) had blip meets with Katherine & Max Ellis and JuliaS
6) released Blipbear into the Blip Community... he's currently with meandmygirl
7) found out about so many new things including learning how to run, thank-you Debiives!
8) asked to photograph a complete stranger
9) bought a packet of Jelly Babies just for a photo?
10) and got to know so many wonderful blippers!

So why Wonder Woman? For those of you who don't know I am running 6.2 miles (10k) for "Pass it on Africa" in 2 weeks time in the Heroes Run, Brighton. Back in February work colleagues suggested I join them for this run, and as a non runner I was a bit nervous, but I signed up and I have been out training three times a week since!

This is for a brilliant cause providing children in Africa with an education and I have a sponsorship page if you wish to donate.

or you can text to donate £3 by texting
JENC99 £3 to 70070

Pass it on Africa Project - Tenderfoot School Nairobi Kenya
The Tenderfoot self help school was originally 8 street children being fed, clothed and taught in a corrugated iron shack in a slum on the outskirts of Nairobi. Through the sheer hard work and determination of Esther Wamai, now the school's head teacher, Tenderfoot gradually grew into a functioning primary school for the Kangemi slum children.

When PIO got there, the school was half built and there was only enough room and money to feed and teach 155 children.

Since being involved they have:

- Built the rest of the primary school. (6 classrooms and a working kitchen).
- Acquired the neighbouring land. This is presently being used as sports/playing fields but may be used to extend the school in the future.
- Provided various educational and sporting resources.
- Set up a number of trust funds to support primarily the third of the children at the school who are orphans.

Plans for the future
Their plan for the future is to always stay in regular communication with the school and staff, continue to help them financially or by whatever means necessary.

To this end, they are keen to set up relationships between English schools and our projects in Africa so that an enduring support network can be established.
They are currently working with Tenderfoot on a Phase 2 Development Plan, which involves the further expansion of the school on the recently acquired plot of land.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.