Think, try, share

By JonBusby

Tech

Tech is an interesting subject. I make my living by explaining technology.

The irony is that I am more of a technophobe than people would suspect.

I like 'easy' tech, simple tech. I like tech that I can explore at my pace which is what I am doing with my photography.

I love the fact that my D40 is almost retro now.

I love the challenge of not having the latest gizmos and managing with what I have got.

I love using the net to find communities and solutions...a kind of digital mend and make do.

I love the learning experience and challenge of understanding aperture (small 'a').

I am really enjoying the discipline and exploration of working with natural light and making subtle change via Aperture.

I really really love the fact that I can...when I want...how I want...if I want.

I captured this shot of Oscar whilst he was on his big addiction Minecraft. This is a games technology I do not understand. He showed me the community that he had built over the last few months and it was seriously impressive.

The barriers for entry to technology for his generation are so minimal now but what I am seeing is not just technology but a greater connection to the imagination; the creation of worlds in Minecraft, Little Big Planet etc. Powerful.

As a parent it can seem daunting, the addiction, the obsession but I guess we had our passions at their age, they were just different. As long as there is a connection to creation and creating something positive then I am comfortable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.