creative lenna

By creativelenna

boats, boats and more boats!

Try this large . . .
Yikes, what a lot of small boats! Lots of talk about boats too, with a whole different language concerning jibs, spars and cockpits, trailers and ball bearings, masts and rigs, hull speed and buoyancy - wow! I must admit it was interesting though . . . and lots of eye/camera candy for me. The folks I met here are really nice and everyone enjoyed a day in the sun with lots of sunscreen on. We motored a short distance for the boat meet out to Atsena Otie island in our little handcrafted boat that looks like a small 'African Queen'. We also towed the small wee lassie canoe my dad made for Steven -last boat Dad made. Steven took it and paddled around the island.

This is what the shore of the island looked at one point . . . everyone gets out of their boats wearing hats and sun protection. People walk around and admire everyone else's boats and ask questions, like how the boat was made. The water current in places was a little difficult for sailing (hard to tack in) so at one point Steven motored out with our boat Chelsea and towed one of the sail boats from Dave Lucas' shop over to the island. I did not stay out with him on the island the whole day . . . instead Steven gave me a boat ride back to cedar key and I went to our lovely room and got the photos I took out of my camera. Next I went to a local State park museum (history of the area) and then came back and pulled out my traveling art kit! I sat on the porch and worked on a small project until Steven returned and we got ready to go to a big Shrimp Boil supper put on by the Trailer Sailors!! It's been fun. I am working on adding more photos here, if you are interested!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.