Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Lots of Weather. And Gargoyles.

Well, thank you for all the kind words from yesterday. All ended well, with my mystery blipper popping in as well. I won't lose her again! Or my Bus Pass...

Actually, after that brilliant start to the day - in the Gardens in the early morning - I had another long awaited treat. Yes! The place where you can have a bottomless ice cream, preceded by a roast meal with help-yourself veges and gravy. Brilliant! AND it was only 23 minutes from my flat, according to Mr TomTom, despite the seemingly circuitous route.

I had the obligatory (for me) three dishes of ice cream, the obligatory ice cream headache, and this time, my thumbs went numb! I was so cold I had to put on my jacket while finishing my dessert. So I didn't go for my world record - four dishes of ice cream. Another time.

Today we set off in blue skies towards the Borders. By the time we got up the road it was grey skies, just out of Edinburgh it was snow, and at Soutra Hill, the hail was horizontal! Despite the howling wind, I noted that only a couple of the windmills wind turbines were going. They're SO reliable!

Undeterred, we pressed on. We were on a mission to visit an art exhibition at Duns Castle. This castle is not usually open to the public at all, so it was a real treat to be able to wander round, taking photos - by this time it was blue skies and warm again - before going in to the exhibition. There was a painter we very much liked, but resisted quite easily due to the Art Fund being severely depleted a month or so ago.

This castle is amazing. The best gargoyles I've seen in a long while (and I don't often get to say that!). They were all different, and in fact one or two of them looked as if they depicted an owner. Or maybe I insult them too much and it was just a more human-type gargoyle. There were dozens of small ones, with the main ones at the very top being at least a metre long. I tried to zoom in and take some photos of them, but not good enough really. But I'll put a couple in my blipfolio. In the photo you can see the shadows of the gargoyles.

My Kiwi friend, who finds certain sounds in Scottish unfathomable, has been reading up about the history of the castle. Apparently in 1639 General Leslie was 'courted' there.

'That's nice' I said.

No, not 'courted' - Quartered!

NOT SO NICE.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.