Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Keyboard Warriors - Let's Stamp out Bullying!

Online communities such as this on Blipfoto or Twitter have been great and I've made some great friends through it, online and also in the real world. However, I'm sorry to say there are some people online who only take delight in creating misery for others; this weekend has sadly provided an example.

One of my followers on Twitter, who I've struck up a great friendship with, has faced verbal and physical violence threats. The people who perpetrated this act of course think they're morally right and doing a service to the rest of the world. One of them blames an illness for spouting their evil comments, another thinks they are a moral crusader, a keyboard warrior, and thinks they can write what they want, without any of it being based on fact. The moral crusader seems like someone with a big chip on their shoulder, everyone else is at fault, the government, God, their parents, their friends, and the system.

Bullying in any way, shape or form is a very cowardly act, and in my experience the bully is the one with the problems and insecurities. Anyone who has been bullied knows the experience can often be quite life changing, for some its positive and others it's very negative. It can happen to anyone, I should know because I've been there and I'm over 6ft, my only crime was being good academically and good at rugby. I turned that thoroughly depressing experience into something positive and I've worked very hard for everything I've achieved in life.

I was lucky in some respects as cyber bullying, as it is known, wasn't around in my day, but now with text messaging and the internet it is so easy for someone to bully, all behind a keyboard safely tucked away in their home. Being online does not mean you have anonymity and that your actions are above and not answerable to the law of the land, however, it's easy for you to spout your vitriolic rubbish. But in the words of that famous comment "you can run but you can't hide!" You may think you're anonymous, but you can be tracked and the authorities will catch up with you.

By us all working together we can stamp out bullying, don't ignore it report it and don't take no for answer. Don't keep it to yourself, talk to people whether it be your family or friends. Professional organisations such as Childline, Beat Bullying, and Bullying UK are also there to help. Bullying can be defeated. Don't let bullies win!

Sorry for a serious blip today but I'm passionate about defeating bullying. If you've read this via Twitter I'd appreciate a retweet, the more we raise awareness the better the chance we have of beating bullying. Thanks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.