Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Alcohol

I was looking through my bookcase, in the hope I could find something to give away.

Of course I failed!

I started, as one does, browsing through 'The Enquirers Oracle or What to do and How to do it'. published in 1880. It's subtitle tells you all. 'A Ready Reference Book upon Family Matters, Health & Education, Home Management, Home Culture, and a Countless Variety of Subjects'

A hive of interesting, but mostly obsolete information. The section on alcohol made me smile. Over a hundred years ago they were already warning of it's dangers, but we still adore the stuff. I found this bottle of fine Cognac. Where it came from I can't remember. I assure you it's not as old as the book, but I've had it a long time, only because I very rarely drink spirits.

In fact Mel has just come in and I've given her the glass I filled for the blip. I've opened a cider.

Have a look in large and read the page!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.