Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Preston's 5th birthday

I met Preston when he was just a few weeks old, cradled in Kristi's arms at the CHARGE conference in an elevator. I latched onto this amazing family as we rode the elevator up and down, gaining as much information as I could from Kristi and John whilst Reuben lay in intensive care. I instantly, instinctively knew, that I'd met an incredible person who would play a significant role in not only mine, but many hundreds of lives.

Today we celebrated Preston's 5th birthday and this is in honor of one of the most amazing people I should ever be privileged to meet in life. Smart, funny, gorgeous, inspiring, modest, kind, motivated, compassionate, a loving mother, wife, daughter and friend.

Nothing in life is forever. That I should have had that great privilege to have had Kristi's family so close by for these 3.5 years after they later moved to SoCal, sharing birthdays together, Kristi being one of the only people I've been able to share so much with, the great adviser she is, is a great blessing in my life. Trying not to feel heartbroken that my soon to be loss of having her so close in location is another friend's huge gain. And thanking God that with the communication age, that distant doesn't have to seem quite so far.

Happy birthday Preston, with love.

PS Kristi is wearing her combat bandana in honor of Preston's combat themed party. And yes, Kristi really does have eyes this blue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.