stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Crocodile Rock

Visitors to Millport will instantly recognise this local feature of the Great Cumbrae. The World Famous (well I like to think so) Crocodile Rock is one of several recognisable named rock formations on the island (along with Indian Rock, Lion Rock and Victoria Rock). Part of a set of wonderful childhood memories of summer holidays and September weekend trips bramble picking with my cousins, I've given this a wee nostalgic feel. The unblemished version along with some other shots of the day can be found here, if you have time to look.

Travelling over today for the first time in a while, it's clear to see that Millport is stuck in a bit of a time warp. The old toy shop that I got my die cast Moonraker shuttle from some thirty years or so ago is still there and like many of the shops looks exactly the same as it did way back then. Don't get me wrong. That's not necessarily a bad thing. It's a wonderful, relaxing place to visit. It's still probably the only place where push bikes outnumber cars and cycling the 11 mile coastal road that circles the island is one of the things to do while visiting.

One of the other traditional practices is a visit to The Ritz Cafe. Rain, hail or shine, it matters not. Hot peas and vinegar, Bovril and a Knickerbocker Glory (ice cream) are the order of the day, and although the latter was forgone in favour of a double nougat (which was still very naughty of me) and a saunter down the front, the peas and vinegar were a sure fire winner still!

Again, I seem to be losing hours and hours somewhere so I haven't been able to catch up tonight. I know you'll be getting fed up with hearing that, so thanks for stopping by nonetheless. Off to talk wedding photo's wth my sister tomorrow then home. Hopefully I'll be able to start my catch up tomorrow. Hope everyone who's off has a great time and for those of you working, my sympathies.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.