The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Closing Time

One of my pet peeves in hotels in most major metropolitan cities is that they charge you an arm and a leg for the room and then, ON TOP OF THAT, they charge you your other arm and leg for internet access and water. I can stay at a Hampton Inn in Omaha and get a decent room, free internet and bottled water for the same amount as the room taxes alone in NYC. I am not a penny pincher but, $6 for water from the mini-bar, no thank you. So the first thing I typically do once my bags are in my room is head out for a walk to see the sights and I, eventually, arrive back at the hotel with bottled water that is not as expensive as a fine wine. Sorry for the rant but it drives me nuts.

Tonight shortly after 11 pm, my routine led me to a very dark streeet with a food cart at one end and a sushi bar at tho other. They were the only two sources of light on the block other than a few insufficient street lamps overhead. All of the other establishments were closed and their steel shutters rolled shut. I blipped the sushi bar and Abdal and it was the first time I had to use my camera all day. The morning was pissed away on conference calls, the afternoon on a plane and the evening over a lengthy dinner which awaited me when I landed.

The man in the food cart, Abdal, sold me the water I was looking for. He seems quite serious but he was actually quite laid back.

Thank you for your kind words, comments and favorites last night. I really was quite flat yesterday but your words brightened my spirits and I have more spring in my step today as a result. I hope to get some down time this week while on the road and will use it to catch up on journals and to thank you individually. I find viewing your journals to be one of the most relaxing things I do.

Again, I thank you and am always in awe of the individual and cumulative kindness of you all.

Post publish note: I switched images this morning frm the sushi bar to Abdal. Thanks for those that viewed and left comments on the prior one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.