Reflectives

By Reflectives

The leaf and the tree

Spent the morning gardening; the trees are almost in full bloom now, and even against a grey Glasgow sky the green signals growth and change, and the summer to come. Summer for me is the time when I can indulge in work that makes the job enjoyable, spending time thinking and writing and feeling like I'm making my mark.

I gave myself a huge shake last night and resolved this morning to put fantasy back in its box and focus on reality. As much fun as it was, that self-indulgent path isn't a healthy one emotionally and could only end one way.

Was magical while it lasted though.....

The Leaf And The Tree

When will you learn, myself, to be
a dying leaf on a living tree?
Budding, swelling, growing strong,
Wearing green, but not for long,
Drawing sustenance from air,
That other leaves, and you not there
May bud, and at the autumn's call
Wearing russet, ready to fall?

- Edna St Vincent Millay

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.