Again and Again

By Ripitup

Watching you, watching me.

Finally a day with dry between the showers.

Decide against venturing to the kite festival or too far at all and went looking for some orchids instead. I chose one of my regular early morning walks and found beautiful grebes, cootes, baby moorhens, herons, cormorants and even a pair of shelducks which I've not seen at that lake before.

Met and spent an hour talking to Peter who owns the lake and the surrounding land and who has ambitious plans for it. He has personally hand planted almost 3000 trees/shrubs on the site in the last 3 years as well as stocking the lake with 100 gudgeon. He took much pleasure in sharing his planting plans with me, telling me about some of the trees, such as wild pear, that he'd already planted and his ongoing 'deer defence plans'.

I shared with him my love for some of the particular features of his lake and told him that it was one of my favourite places to watch the sun rise.

Happily for me, he also told me that he didn't mind 'responsible trespassers' passing through and that he looked forward to seeing me again. Fortuante really as I was quite a way past being anywhere I should 'technically' have been.

I hope that I visit the lake again at a more sociable hour and have a chance to speak to Peter again as his enthusiasm for his hobby and knowledge was remarkable.

Unfortunately too much talking to Peter, dog walkers, ramblers and even a photographer with a enormous lens meant little blipping.

I've had my eye on this swan for a few weeks. The nest now has a grebe nest about 2 feet from it too. I think they are getting used to me staring at them as he didn't even attempt to chase me off today and she stuck her head up briefly before going back to sleep.

Now it is raining again and I must do some ironing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.