What's in a name? Part 3

Well, this is little Biscuit... He is a shetland sheepdog and the smallest of the Hazyland boys... Well in size anyway... Small in size, big in attitude!

Biscuit's registered name is The Charmed Ones' Biscuit in Blue.

The Charmed Ones' is his breeder's prefix. All dogs from her breeding has "The Charmed Ones'" in front of their names.

"In Blue" is also something his breeder puts behind all her blue merle puppies' names. Her tricoloured dogs have "In Black" after their names.

Biscuit's breeder usually doesn't ask the new owners what they want their puppy to be named, so Biscuit was named The Charmed Ones' Buddha in Blue. Buddha???!!! I hated it!!!! A Buddha would be a fat little dog, who would rather meditate than work!!!!

I had already decided that his pet name would be 'Biscuit', so I asked the breeder if she would change his registered name too. She said NO! She liked Buddha and thought it suited him, so Buddha it was. Ok then - he was the puppy I wanted, so I would have to accept the name. I would still call him Biscuit, which the breeder knew.

Then when it was time for me to collect him and bring him to his new home, the breeder and I sat down to sort all the paperwork. I signed the transfer of ownership document, the contract and everything... lots of paperwork to be looked at... and then when we were all done and I was nearly ready to take my new baby home, I suddenly noticed... his name... it was not... it was not Buddha!!!! The breeder had changed her mind and had asked the Kennel Club to change his registered name to Biscuit!!!! It was her surprise to me and I almost didn't notice!!!!

Biscuit is named after one of the lawyers from the TV series Ally McBeal. Ally's good friend and colleague John Cage is called 'The Biscuit'. He is a funny little man - not very tall, but extremely successful and then he likes to dance when he prepares for a court case. See him dance here!

I thought he would be the perfect character to name my new pup from. My Biscuit would not be very tall compared to the other dogs, but I was hoping that he would be very successful and love to dance :-).

I've been to school today and I've finally started writing my exam paper. I need to hand it in early as I am going to Austria on the 17th so it is about time!!!!

Happy Monday!
Emmy & the Hazyland boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.