Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Bad Hair Day

The rain that was forecast held off longer than expected, which gave me the chance to do some more work this morning on the new wood store.

As I was hammering in the roofing slats I was aware of a baby bird being fed nearby and could hear the excited chirps as a parent came with food. I was surprised that as I kept hammering away the sound of the chick's chirps and the parent's calls got nearer, to the point where they were clearly just behind the fence I was working beside. I wasn't particularly concerned about a blip as I had already taken some bird shots, including what I thought was quite a nice one of a Blackbird collecting food for its young. However, curiosity got the better of me and I had to go and see who was making all the noise (the bird was probably thinking the same about all the hammering!)

Anyway, it was a cute little Chaffinch that had found a cosy spot beneath some Rhododendron bushes. I just couldn't resist going back to the house for the camera to get another blip of the little chick with its downy feathers ready to fall out.

The rain came on before lunch and was heavy all afternoon. When I returned home at half five I could still hear the little Chaffinch and see its father nearby. Not a great day to leave the comfort of its nest so here's hoping it can survive its first day in the big bad World!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.