Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Speckled Wood

This butterfly looked a bit stunned, probably by all the cold weather but I also wondered what the grey spec was (a tiny snail?? Looking at it large I'm wondering if it's a bit of pupa casing). I tried to remove it but the butterfly closed up its wings. This species feeds on the honeydew secreted by aphids. I guess it was hungry, not many aphids about.

We walked in a large area of marshy grassland we've explored before, but this time another patch near Old Woking. We saw lots of roe deer and came across the remains of Woking palace, not much to look at these days but in its time it was quite impressive and patronised by Henry VIII.

There was a lovely bluebell glade and stitchworts so I had a few choices today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.