A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Dead Nettles

Having a bird break today as I lent The Lens to my husband to have a shot since he was off work today. Thanks very much to everyone for all your hearts, stars and encouragement!

I noticed these lovely nettle flowers today which are a nice reminder of the usefulness of a plant which is much derided as a nasty stingy thing.
EDIT But thanks to Flummgummery and Ceridwen for pointing out that these are dead nettles and don't sting, d'oh!

The poet Thomas Campbell spoke of sleeping in nettle sheets (!) and eating nettles from a nettle tablecloth. Nettle cloth was supposed to be particularly durable and supplies of the plant are usually pretty plentiful so I guess fairly cheap to make too!

Martin Martin describes a nettle brew made by the St Kildans on his visit there in 1697 where the roots were fermented with barley meal dough. When they drank this they danced merrily!

Shameless Plug - I am doing a talk on St Kilda at the Bongo Club next month. I think they want to change the date so I am not sure exactly when any more but if anyone is interested, let me know and I'll remember to update you when I know for sure. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.