Family Dog

By Family_Dog

ready..steady...CHEAT!

Dragons eh? You can never rely on them to follow the rules.

Arlo's 4th birthday party was great fun - for all concerned (I hope!?). I was in my element bossing loads of kids about and the kids were in their element ignoring me completely and running around like crazed loons in the big garden.

We started off with a bit of running around (you'll see a theme develop here, honestly if I'd just locked them in the garden with a ball and a few balloons they'd have been happy as Larry), then a fancy dress parade, a game of dodge ball, a bit of running around. A bit more running around and high pitched screaming, a calm 15 minutes while they decorated their own crowns, party food (no sweeties / cakes / chocolates or biscuits - not due to my right on groovy and fab tendencies but because I forgot to make anything other than chocolate crispy cakes and Arlo had eaten 3 that morning, leaving me short for the party. Guess what? Not one kid noticed or complained!), a bit of running around inside, happy birthday song and cake, loads of running around outside, 2 games of pass the parcel, a bit of running around, prize giving for the fancy dress, a game of musical bumps, party bags and then DONE!

Jesus. I was knackered.

We then got home and spent the next 2 hours opening presents, which was pretty bloody exciting. Apart from I realised I am now officially in Boy Land. Cars that jump on tracks, things to build up and smash down with a smashy ball lorry thing, Ben 10, Transformers, Meccano, space guns that flash and make bloopy noises. I think I've pretty much caught up with the reality that I have a proper noisy, flashy lighty, dinosaur roary, action figure loving, Wii playing boy.

I might end up down the pink road with Ida yet....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.