horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Licence to Terminate

On my list of people to terminate
Plenty of names feature
So better dust off
That Uzi 9mm

------------------

Okay, so just a liiiiittle post-processing here.

Right, here's something that bothers me about films (since I was playing at being Arnie tonight. Not literally though you understand, I haven't shot anyone, killed an alien, wielded a huge sword alongside a red-haired Amazonian, had a football stadium named after me, had my name taken off a football stadium after revealing my homophobic tendencies, or ever thought that Republican should be the way to go. Nope, I've done none of that. Except maybe killed an alien, but that was a long time ago and I don't like to talk about it).

Where was I? Oh yes, it's the aftermath of films. That point at which the movie ends. 73,000 people have been killed, cities have been wiped out, the bad guy has been killed in such a way that his remains are never going to be found, and sitting in the middle of it all is the good guy, with ex-estranged wife and formerly delinquent child and probably a dog or a cat. And no-one, not a a single person, thinks to question what the feck has happened. And everyone's happy. Because these three people (plus pets) have survived, despite the aforementioned death and destruction up to that point (and yes, I am thinking here about bloody War of the Worlds with bloody Tom Cruise and bloody Dakota 'this is my space, this is my space' Fanning amongst many other films).

Maybe I'm too practical. There's a car chase and a couple of innocent cars are mashed as the baddie flees through red lights and I think, "How do you explain that to the insurance company?"

I think this particular stream of consciousness is done and dusted, so I'll just suggest one movie that my friend Steven (blipped a few days ago) reminded me of. We both had (and have) a love of just sitting up late watching whatever movies appear. Late night movies (on the 'normal' channels) can be a particular joy, though sometimes you wonder what on earth you're doing watching it. Two nights ago I sat up to 1am watching 'Undisputed' with Ving Rhames and Wesley Snipes (prophetically a prisoner) and compulsively watched every last frame.

Anyway, yes, the movie suggestion. La Cabina is a bizarre trip, a Spanish movie from the 70s (I think) with a guy trapped in a phonebox (much more convincingly and humourously than Colin Farrell ever managed, I mean WHY would you give up Radha Mitchell for Katie Holmes? It makes no sense whatsoever...). La Cabina, however, is worth searching out, especially come the last 5 minutes or so.

Oh, and a quick thanks to my brother for pointing me in the direction of Seasick Steve - fantastic modern retro blues. It's fueling this nonsense at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.