Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Action Woman!

I'm a Woman of Action! I own a DSLR! It was only mentioned yesterday! (Though the notion has been around for a while. Ever since I joined blipfoto, in fact).

As chance would have it, on a wet bank holiday, we went to seek out a microwave/convection oven at a large shop that also sold - wait for it - cameras! A very helpful assistant and half an hour later, I had the one that I'd already spotted online as the preferred choice. A bag and an 8GB card thrown in was the deciding factor.

Leo's mum rang last night to say that he's got chicken pox. We decided that she should stay at home with him. This was the best arrangement for all of us! And so, early this morning, instead of going to Leo, I got dropped off in the park to try out my new camera.

It was great to snap away, without having to wait each time. It's also more satisfying to use an eyepiece, rather than a screen, so you can see exactly what you're getting. Oooh, it makes a very pleasing shutter sound. And it's so quick. I had huge fun! Even got a couple of almost passable seagulls in flight.

I climbed up to the wee chapel taking time to frequently stop and look around at the view (ie puffing and gasping) and walked on through the park, snapping away. Amazing the amount of people out with their dogs, or running. Tried this one in B&W as well, but liked the colour version better.

Went past the parliament, which is all a-buzz with policemen and frantic cleaning activities. A chap was cleaning the seagull poos off the concrete by the water features (which were, for once, also nice and clean and had no eyesore makeshift barriers around). I asked if he was cleaning up because Charlie was coming and he said he was. I mentioned that it would nice to keep it clean for the rest of us as well, all the time, but he pretended he didn't hear me.

Off to my former frequent cafe, and they remembered my usual drink. What could be nicer - a sticky bun with my coffee, Noah and the Whale muzak, reading a new camera manual to find out how to play back the first batch of photos. Bliss!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.