Life on the edge...

By bru22

Biggest Plucker..

This time last year I was frantically pulling many all nighters casually working away in the music studios at Aberdeen University battling the copy and paste button like my life depended on it completing my composition portfolio.

It was on the day of the Annual Music Ball that we had to hand our portfolios in an goodness me was that not one of the best feelings in the world!! I had seconds to spare!!

The Annual Music May Ball has an awards theme. The awards were voted by all 4 years of the Music department + staff.

The awards included...

Biggest Banger (percussion)
Biggest Blower (woodwind/brass)
Biggest Plucker (strings)
Biggest Belter (singers)
Best Dressed... And so on...

I was awarded the Biggest Plucker award! Ha!

I don't remember much from the Music May Ball apart from 3 of us pretty much falling out of the party bus that toured us around Aberdeen for about an hour before the ball itself... Consuming a silly amount of champagne in a short space of time... (Having to stand on a bench in ridiculous heels to get our year photo taken in which we all pulled sily faces! - we were a unique year!!) Which meant before we had even had our meal all 12 of us were absolutely intoxicated!
Good times...

I had many a bruise from the ceilidh that followed and don't think I made it through the after party..!! TAXXXIII

So... Here are 10 people/things I need to thank for me now holding a BMus (Honours) degree in music...

1. The inventor of Copy and Paste/Wikipedia and Google. Sibelius and Pro Tools!
2. Guera Maunder/Gillian Findlay my violin teachers who put up with me at my worst and pulled me through when I nearly gave up...
3. All the lectures at University especially Paul Mealor for his support on my Composition Folio... + Pete Stollery + Frauke + Aled.
4. My mum and dad for pulling me out of debt many a time...
5. My year group of crazy friends - The 120 all nighter crew.
6. Lorna... Who believed in me when I didn't...
7. Blair Cargill for takling Messiaen Accompaniments for my final recital when no one else would!!!
8. David Vernon for fixing my violin when I dropped it on the floor in Edinburgh during a rehearsal (I was playing it at the time and have no idea how my hands lost control but for a split second I just couldn't hold it and it crashed to the floor!!) He made my violin and I am forever in debt to him.
9. Simon... Mantra Mantra Mantra...
10. Lucozade/Monster/Red Bull... SUGAR

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.